Private eyes, they’re watching you, they see your every move

The song Private Eyes by Hall and Oates, here, is topical in view of the hacking scandal.  Catchy!   I can’t stop singing it! One of the greatest private eye movies ever is Robert Altman’s The Long Goodbye, starring Elliot Gould. The brilliant trailer here gives the flavour of the film, available on DVD. The theme is loyalty, friendship and what you do when it all comes unstuck. David Cameron is learning all about that.

Elliot Gould as Philip Marlow in Raymond Chandler’s The Long Goodbye

“Private Eyes they’re watching you they see your every move Private Eyes they’re watching you Private Eyes they’re watching you watching you watching you watching you You play with words you play with love you can twist it around baby that ain’t enough cause girl I’m gonna know if you’re letting me in or letting me go don’t lie when you’re hurting inside ’cause you can’t escape my Private Eyes they’re watching you they see your every move Private Eyes they’re watching you Private Eyes they’re watching you watching you watching you watching you Why you try to put up a front for me I’m a spy but on your side you see Slip on, into any disguise I’ll still know you look into my Private Eyes”

4 responses to “Private eyes, they’re watching you, they see your every move

  1. Hall and Oates! Those were the days!

  2. What was that song – your kiss, your kiss is what i miss, by Hall and Oates, used to love that!

  3. The song is great fun. The movie “The Long Goodbye” is tremendous. Robert Altman does a great job of directing. At first the film wasn’t popular, but now it is a cult hit.

  4. Great song, ahhhh those were the days. Why you try to put up a front for me – I’m a spy but I’m on your side you see…..

Leave a Reply

