Brokeback Mountain

The short story “Brokeback Mountain” by Annie Proulx is one of the most deeply emotional, heartfelt stories of all time, and it’s irrelevant that the two main characters are even gay.  It is a story about two people who deeply love each other and who suffer horribly, because they are prevented by the social mores of the time,  from being together. 
The film, directed by Ang Lee was equally gut wrenching.  When I went to see it, and I have seen it two or three times, lots of men in the audience were crying, and since they seemed to be with their girlfriends, presumably they were straight.  Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhall, besides being terrific actors,  are beautiful men, but I bet David Davis is too stupid to appreciate any of this.  He meant the whole thing as a slight, thus showing himself up as an illiterate blockhead.

It is depressing to realise that some politicians are so ignorant and insensitive.   When David Davis was running for Party Leader against David Cameron,  his female supporters sported T shirts on large chests, bearing the slogan “It’s DD for me!”.  Davis himself subtly declared that like Heinken, he reached the parts that others could not reach.

I honestly don’t know how gay people survive the stupidity of the rest of us sometimes.  Still, to quote the story, “If you can’t fix it, you gotta stand it.”

7 responses to “Brokeback Mountain

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN « CYBERBORISjohnson -- Topsy.com

  2. I cried buckets over this film. Very very touching and emotional and the two main actors are superb.

    David Davis is an insensitive dork.

  3. I actually enjoyed this film, to my surprise. I ddn’t cry but at one point, I choked and turned it into a cough.

  4. David Davis would make a useless leader of the Tory Party. If they need someone to focus the right wing of the party, let Boris do it, he would be much better.

  5. I couldn’t possibly vote for someone like David Davis as leader of the Tory Party. Absolutely 100% no way.

    We need someone to fight for as many of our rights as possible to be returned from Brussels.

  6. Ymton Emanlaer

    I bought it and watched it once. I can’t watch it any more because it’s too painful; it hits too close to home.

  7. Ymton, I totally understand what you mean. I cried my eyes out when I read the story, feels like your stomach is being carved out with a blunt knife. Be glad you can feel that deeply though, a lot of people can’t. Take care, always great to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

